Strong showings by the jumpers and in the weight events helped the Leo Lions defend their title in the IHSA Class A track and field sectional meet at Benedictine University in Lisle on Friday, May 22.

Senior Latrell Giles was the Lions’ only individual winner, taking first place in the long jump with a leap of 20 feet, seven inches. Giles also placed fourth in the triple jump with a best effort of 41-3.5

Fellow senior Saheed Adewole collected points in three events for the Lions, placing second in the triple jump (42-07.25), fourth in the long jump (19-8) and running the anchor leg on the 4×100-meter relay team, which finished third in :44.36

Junior sprinter David Frye also registered in three events, placing fifth in the 100-meter dash (:11.45) and running the lead leg on the 4×100 and 4×200-meter relays teams (third, 1:33.95).

Junior Darias Oliver (6-5) and sophomore Khalid Manney (5-10) finished second and third, respectively, in the high jump. Juniors Chris Winters (133-5) and Demon Fox (128-10) were second and third in the discus, and Winters also placed fourth in the shot put (41-1).

Junior SirLaurence King gave the Lions four points with fifth-place finishes in the 1,600-meter (4:45.99) and 3,200-meter (10:00.89) runs. Junior Russell Lamb placed third in the 110-meter hurdles (:16.24) and ran the third leg of the 4×400-meter relay team, which placed third in 3:37.61.

Here’s list of the events in which Leo scored points at the sectional meet:

100-meter dash: David Frye fifth, :11.45

110-meter high hurdles: Russell Lamb third, :16.24

1,600-meter run: SirLaurence King fifth, 4:45.99

3,200-meter run: SirLaurence King fifth, 10:00.89

4×100-meter relay (David Frye, Josh Thomas, Tyler Goodwin, Saheed Adewole) third, :44.36

4×200-meter relay (David Frye, Zuriel Cook, Harvey Moss, Josh Thomas) third, 1:33.95

4×400-meter relay (Zuriel Cook, Harvey Moss, Russell Lamb, Kendall Walker) third, 3:37.61

4×800-meter relay (Derrick Golden, Kamaron Williams, Justin Jefferson, Kenton Walker) sixth, 9:19.07

Long jump: Latrell Giles first, 20-7; Saheed Adewole fourth, 19-8

High jump: Darias Oliver, second, 6-0.5, Khalid Manney, third, 5-10

Triple jump: Saheed Adewole second, 42-7.25; Latrell Giles fourth, 41-3.5

Discus: Chris Winters second, 133-5; Demon Fox third, 128-10

Shot put: Chris Winters fourth, 41-1

The state meet will be held on the campus of Eastern Illinois University in Charleston on Thursday, May 28 and Saturday, May 30. Leo is a seven-time winner of the state track championship, most recently in 2012.